Updated: Aug 25, 2019

93 players get consideration for award honoring college football's top community servant

FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla. - July 25, 2019 - The Wuerffel Trophy, presented by Chick-fil-A Foundation®,announced its Watch List today of 93 players from college football's Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS).

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as "College Football's Premier Award for Community Service," is presented each February in Fort Walton Beach. Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

10 players return to the Watch List from 2018. They are: Malcolm Holland (Arizona), Derrick Brown (Auburn), Sean Pollard (Clemson), Adam Prentice (Colorado State), Rodrigo Blankenship (Georgia), Matt Bahr (Kent State), Deuce Wallace (Louisiana), Blake Ferguson (LSU), Justin Herbert (Oregon) and Darren Woods, Jr. (UNLV).


Isaiah Sanders, Air Force, Senior, QB

Chris Owens, Alabama, Junior, OL

Darrynton Evans, App State, Junior, RB

Malcolm Holland, Arizona, Senior, DB

Eno Benjamin, Arizona State, Junior, RB

Kyle Williams, Arizona State, Senior, WR

T.J. Smith, Arkansas, Senior, DL

Tajhea Chambers, Arkansas State, Junior, LB

Derrick Brown, Auburn, Senior, DL

Kole Bailey, Boise State, Junior, OL

Gabe Skrobot, Bowling Green, Junior, LS

Matt Otwinowski, Buffalo, Senior, LB

Uriah Leiataua, BYU, Junior, DL

Michael Saffell, Cal, Junior, OL

Tyriq Harris, Charlotte, Senior, DL

Sean Pollard, Clemson, Senior, OL

Silas Kelly, Coastal Carolina, Junior, LB

Adam Prentice, Colorado State, Junior, RB

Koby Quansah, Duke, Senior, LB

Brody Hoying, Eastern Michigan, Senior, DB

James Morgan, FIU, Senior, QB

Tyrie Cleveland, Florida, Senior, WR

DeCalon Brooks, Florida State, Sophomore, LB

Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia, Senior, K

Rashad Byrd, Georgia Southern, Senior, LB

Jahaziel Lee, Georgia Tech, Senior, DL

Kaimana Padello, Hawai’i, Senior, DL

Bobby Walker, Illinois, Senior, TE

Nick Westbrook, Indiana, Senior, WR

Ray Lima, Iowa State, Senior, DL

Bryce Torenden, Kansas, Senior, DB

Denzel Goolsby, Kansas State, Senior, DB

Matt Bahr, Kent State, Senior, LB

Landon Young, Kentucky, Junior, OL

Deuce Wallace, Louisiana, Senior, BD

Blanton Creque, Louisville, Senior, DB

Blake Ferguson, LSU, Senior, LS

Brenden Knox, Marshall, Sophomore, RB

Noah Barnes, Maryland, Junior, TE

Brady White, Memphis, Junior, QB

Zach McCloud, Miami, Senior, LB

Jack Sorenson, Miami (Ohio), Junior, WR

Cole Chewins, Michigan State, Senior, OL

Khalil Brooks, Middle Tennessee, Senior, LB

Winston DeLattiboudere, Minnesota, Senior, DL

Kobe Jones, Mississippi State, Junior, DL

Khalil Oliver, Missouri, Senior, DB

James Smith-Williams, N.C. State, Senior, DL

Ben Stille, Nebraska, Junior, DL

Lucas Weber, Nevada, Senior, LB

Teton Saites, New Mexico, Junior, OL

Josh Adkins, New Mexico State, Sophomore, QB

Jalen Elliott, Notre Dame, Senior, DB

Kenneth Murray, Oklahoma, Junior, LB

Mufu Tiawo, Old Dominion, Senior, DL

Mac Brown, Ole Miss, Junior, P

Justin Herbert, Oregon, Senior, QB

Dallas Warmack, Oregon, Senior, OL

Andrzej Hughes-Murray, Oregon State, Senior, LB

Tre Tipton, Pittsburgh, Senior, WR

Nick Leverett, Rice, Senior, OL

Parker Houston, San Diego State, Senior, TE

Josh Love, San Jose State, Senior, QB

Tyler Page, SMU, Junior, WR

Brian Ankerson, South Alabama, Junior, OL

Spencer Eason-Riddle, South Carolina, Junior, LB

Treyjohn Butler, Stanford, Senior, DB

Andrew Armstrong, Syracuse, Senior, LB

Kellton Hollins, TCU, Junior, OL

Matt Hennessy, Temple, Junior, OL

Ryan Johnson, Tennessee, Junior, OL

Trey Smith, Tennessee, Junior, OL

Sam Ehlinger, Texas, Junior, QB

Hunter “Hutch” White, Texas State, Senior, WR/ST

Travis Bruffy, Texas Tech, Senior, OL

Bryce Harris, Toledo, Senior, OL

B.J. Smith, Troy, Senior, RB

Jordan Johnson, UCF, Senior, OL

Darren Woods, Jr., UNLV, Senior, WR

Michael Pittman, USC, Senior, WR

Britain Covey, Utah, Junior, WR

Dominik Eberle, Utah State, Senior, K

Derron Gatewood, UTEP, Senior, OL

Andrew Martel, UTSA, Senior, LB

Andre Mintze, Vanderbilt, Junior, LB

Bryce Hall, Virginia, Senior, DB

Cade Carney, Wake Forest, Senior, RB

Nick Harris, Washington, Senior, OL

Frederick Mauigoa, Washington State, Senior, OL

Evan Staley, West Virginia, Junior, K

Tyler Witt, Western Kentucky, Junior, OL

Jon Wassink, Western Michigan, Senior, QB

Chris Orr, Wisconsin, Senior, LB

Nominations for the Wuerffel Trophy are made by the respective universities' Sports Information Departments and will close on October 15. A current list of nominees can be found at www.wuerffeltrophy.org beginning on August 1. Semifinalists for the award will be announced on November 5 and finalists will be announced on November 18.

The formal announcement of the 2019 recipient will be made at the National Football Foundation's festivities in New York City on December 10. The presentation of the 2019 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 51st All Sports Association Awards Banquet on February 14, 2020 in Fort Walton Beach.

Past winners of the award are: Rudy Niswanger - LSU - 2005; Joel Penton - Ohio State - 2006; Paul Smith - Tulsa - 2007; Tim Tebow - Florida - 2008; Tim Hiller - Western Michigan - 2009; Sam Acho - Texas - 2010; Barrett Jones - Alabama - 2011; Matt Barkley - USC - 2012; Gabe Ikard - Oklahoma - 2013; Deterrian Shackelford - Ole Miss - 2014; Ty Darlington - Oklahoma - 2015; Trevor Knight - Texas A&M - 2016; Courtney Love - Kentucky – 2017; Drue Tranquill – Notre Dame – 2018.

The Wuerffel Trophy is supported by its corporate partners, Chick-fil-A Foundation, Dart Container Corporation/Solo Cup and Herff Jones.

The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast more than 800 recipients, dating back to 1935. Visit www.ncfaa.org to learn more about the association.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a two-week period this month. Sixteen of the association’s 25 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2019 preseason watch list calendar:

Monday, July 15: Bednarik Award and Maxwell Award

Tuesday, July 16: Davey O’Brien Award

Wednesday, July 17: Doak Walker Award

Thursday, July 18: Biletnikoff Award

Friday, July 19: John Mackey Award and Rimington Award

Monday, July 22: Butkus Award and Paycom Jim Thorpe Award

Tuesday, July 23: Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Outland Trophy presented by NFID

Wednesday, July 24: Lou Groza Award and Ray Guy Award

Thursday, July 25: Paul Hornung Award and Wuerffel Trophy

Friday, July 26: Walter Camp Award


Contact: Tom Brassell, tombrassell@wuerffeltrophy.org, (850) 585-5512


Why was the Wuerffel Trophy created?  We felt that there was a void in major college football awards. Mike Bianchi of the Orlando Sentinel put it best when he wrote, “The Wuerffel. It’s about time. There’s an award for the best quarterback, best running back, wide receiver, best linebacker, best center and even best kicker and punter. Why not one for the best human being?”


Wuerffel Trophy
Tom Brassell, Executive Director
103 Pamela Ann Drive; Suite 100
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547

Email: tombrassell@wuerffeltrophy.org

Phone: 850-585-5512

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon

© Copyright 2019 The Wuerffel Trophy | All Rights Reserved | Community Service - Athletics - Academics