Steve Spurrier Joins "Team Wuerffel"

Updated: Jun 9, 2018

Head Ball Coach Becomes Part of Wuerffel Trophy's National Selection Committee

Steve Spurrier with part of Team Wuerffel at the SEC Reception in New York City last December.

Steve Spurrier has seen a lot of great players in his coaching and playing career.

He will see even more this year, as he’ll be reviewing information and achievements of college football players off the field as the Wuerffel Trophy announced that he has joined their national selection committee.

“I am thrilled and honored to be asked by one of my all-time favorite players, Danny Wuerffel, to join the selection committee for the Wuerffel Trophy,” Spurrier said.  “This award is given to a really good player who also excels in Community Service,” he added.

Spurrier joins retired college coaches Bobby Bowden, Mack Brown, Mike Gottfried and Bob Casciola on the committee as well

“It is an honor for me to be a part of the committee that gives this outstanding award,” Spurrier added.

Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy Winner, Danny Wuerffel, the Wuerffel Trophy, "College Football's Premier Award for Community Service," is presented in Fort Walton Beach, Florida annually to the college football player that best combines exemplary community service with academic and athletic achievement.

Past winners of the award are:  Rudy Niswanger - LSU - 2005; Joel Penton - Ohio State - 2006; Paul Smith - Tulsa - 2007; Tim Tebow - Florida - 2008; Tim Hiller - W. Michigan - 2009; Sam Acho - Texas - 2010; Barrett Jones - Alabama - 2011; Matt Barkley - USC - 2012; Gabe Ikard - Oklahoma - 2013; Deterrian Shackelford - Ole Miss and 2014 - Ty Darlington - Oklahoma - 2015, Trevor Knight - Texas A&M - 2016.

The nomination period for the award ended on October 13, with semi-finalists being released on November 2 and finalists on November 22.  Formal announcement of the winner will be at the National Football Foundation's press conference in New York City on December 5, with the presentation being made at the 49th Annual All Sports Association Awards Banquet on February 16, 2018 in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.  A list of all of the 2017 nominees can be found at

The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 23 awards boast over 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

For more information on the Wuerffel Trophy, please contact Tom Brassell at (850) 585-5512 or visit


Why was the Wuerffel Trophy created?  We felt that there was a void in major college football awards. Mike Bianchi of the Orlando Sentinel put it best when he wrote, “The Wuerffel. It’s about time. There’s an award for the best quarterback, best running back, wide receiver, best linebacker, best center and even best kicker and punter. Why not one for the best human being?”


Wuerffel Trophy
Tom Brassell, Executive Director
103 Pamela Ann Drive; Suite 100
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547


Phone: 850-585-5512

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon

© Copyright 2019 The Wuerffel Trophy | All Rights Reserved | Community Service - Athletics - Academics