Prof. Walter Manley II - Biletnikoff Award - PODCAST EXCLUSIVE

Updated: Aug 25, 2019

To be able to talk first hand with the founders of some of the most prestigious college football awards is almost impossible. For example, both the Heisman Trophy and the Maxwell Award are over 80 years old. Their founders are no longer with us.

Prof. Walter Manley II with 2016 Wuerffel Trophy recipient Trevor Knight

Not so with the Biletnikoff Award. In its 25-year history, it has risen to elite status in the major college football awards arena. Presented to the most outstanding receiver in FBS football (regardless of position on the field), it is certainly one of the most coveted.

And there from the very beginning is our good friend, and founding trustee, Prof. Walter Manley II. Recently, Walter was kind enough to spend some time with us to discuss how the award was founded, its fantastic awards dinner each February and the charitable mission of the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation.

Take a listen to our podcast by clicking below, on Soundcloud, or by a number of streaming services including iTunes, Google Play, Stitcher, TuneIn and Spotify.


Why was the Wuerffel Trophy created?  We felt that there was a void in major college football awards. Mike Bianchi of the Orlando Sentinel put it best when he wrote, “The Wuerffel. It’s about time. There’s an award for the best quarterback, best running back, wide receiver, best linebacker, best center and even best kicker and punter. Why not one for the best human being?”


Wuerffel Trophy
Tom Brassell, Executive Director
103 Pamela Ann Drive; Suite 100
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547


Phone: 850-585-5512

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon

© Copyright 2019 The Wuerffel Trophy | All Rights Reserved | Community Service - Athletics - Academics