A "Cool Day" on the Ice at WMU Hockey

Updated: Mar 18

Wuerffel Trophy recipients Tim Hiller and Jon Wassink honored at Puck Drop

Kalamazoo, MI - With two Wuerffel Trophy recipients and one William V. Campbell Trophy winner in their "stable" of Bronco football players in the last ten years, one might say that Western Michigan University may have the corner on top-notch student athletes.

These men where found anywhere but the corner on February 22, as past Wuerffel Trophy recipients Tim Hiller (2009) and Jon Wassink (2019), along with Campbell Trophy winner Zach Terrell (2016), were honored at the Puck Drop before the Broncos took the ice against the Bulldogs of the University of Minnesota at Duluth.

Although the Broncos lost the contest 2-1, the three quarterbacks (along with Hiller's son Daniel) were the hit of the day with the fans at the Lawson Ice Arena.

Take a look at the photos and video of the event, courtesy of WMU Athletics.


Why was the Wuerffel Trophy created?  We felt that there was a void in major college football awards. Mike Bianchi of the Orlando Sentinel put it best when he wrote, “The Wuerffel. It’s about time. There’s an award for the best quarterback, best running back, wide receiver, best linebacker, best center and even best kicker and punter. Why not one for the best human being?”


Wuerffel Trophy
Tom Brassell, Executive Director
103 Pamela Ann Drive; Suite 100
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547

Email: tombrassell@wuerffeltrophy.org

Phone: 850-585-5512

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon

© Copyright 2019 The Wuerffel Trophy | All Rights Reserved | Community Service - Athletics - Academics