FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla. — Nov. 3, 2016 — The Wuerffel Trophy announces the eleven semifinalists for the 2016 Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” which is presented annually by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach.

“Once again, this year shows how many outstanding men there are in college football that are doing great work in their communities,” said Danny Wuerffel.  “While it is a difficult task narrowing down the list to semifinalists, these young men certainly represent the best of the best.”


The Wuerffel Trophy, named after Wuerffel, the 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback from the University of Florida, is awarded to the Football Bowl Subdivision player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.


The 2016 Wuerffel Trophy Semifinalists, listed alphabetically by university:

  • DeVon Edwards, Duke University, senior, defensive back

  • Josiah Price, Michigan State University, senior, tight end

  • Christian McCaffrey, Stanford University, junior, running back

  • Trevor Knight, Texas A&M University, senior, quarterback

  • Brooks Ellis, University of Arkansas, senior, linebacker

  • Jeb Blazevich, University of Georgia, junior, tight end

  • Garrett Adcock, University of New Mexico, senior, offensive line

  • Drue Tranquill, University of Notre Dame, junior, defensive back

  • Mike Caprara, University of Pittsburgh, senior, linebacker

  • Jeff Lindquist, University of Washington, senior, tight end

  • Zach Terrell, Western Michigan University, senior, quarterback


Voting for the Wuerffel Trophy is performed by a National Selection Committee that includes college football television and print media, industry notables, former head coaches and prior Wuerffel Trophy recipients. Three finalists will be announced on Nov. 23, 2016, and the formal announcement of the 2016 Wuerffel Trophy recipient will be on Dec. 6, 2016, at the National Football Foundation’s press conference in New York City.


The 2016 Wuerffel Trophy recipient will be interviewed at “The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show” on ESPNU and ESPN3 on Dec. 8, 2016, airing at 6 p.m. EST/5 p.m. CST, featuring interviews with award winners and finalists as they approach the location for The Home Depot College Football Awards Show, the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta, Georgia. The presentation of the 2016 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 48th Annual All Sports Association Awards Banquet on Feb. 10, 2017, in Fort Walton Beach.


Past winners of the Wuerffel Trophy are: 2015 Ty Darlington, University of Oklahoma, 2014 Deterrian Shackelford, University of Mississippi; 2013 Gabe Ikard, University of Oklahoma; 2012 Matt Barkley, University of Southern California; 2011 Barrett Jones, University of Alabama; 2010 Sam Acho, University of Texas; 2009 Tim Hiller, Western Michigan University; 2008 Tim Tebow, University of Florida; 2007 Paul Smith, University of Tulsa; 2006 Joel Penton, Ohio State University; and 2005 Rudy Niswanger, Louisiana State University.

The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association, which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 23 awards boast more than 700 years of tradition-selection excellence.


For more information, go to For more information on the Wuerffel Trophy, visit

Contact:  Tom Brassell,, 850-585-5512


Why was the Wuerffel Trophy created?  We felt that there was a void in major college football awards. Mike Bianchi of the Orlando Sentinel put it best when he wrote, “The Wuerffel. It’s about time. There’s an award for the best quarterback, best running back, wide receiver, best linebacker, best center and even best kicker and punter. Why not one for the best human being?”


Wuerffel Trophy
Tom Brassell, Executive Director
103 Pamela Ann Drive; Suite 100
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547


Phone: 850-585-5512

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon

© Copyright 2019 The Wuerffel Trophy | All Rights Reserved | Community Service - Athletics - Academics