Wuerffel Trophy Voting 2018-02-03T11:57:14+00:00

The Wuerffel Trophy



Wuerffel Trophy Voting

Nominations for the Wuerffel Trophy are submitted in the month of October from the Sports Information Directors of the participating 127 NCAA FBS (formerly known as Division I) universities.  Finalists are chosen and released to the media in the second week of November, then delivered to the voting committee.  The voting committee for the Wuerffel Trophy winner is comprised of select national media, retired head coaches, past winners and the Wuerffel Trophy Board of Directors.  Voters are asked that the finalists’ documented Community Service make up 50% or better of their decision, while on the field performance and academics comprise 25% or less each.

National VotersPast WinnersDirectors
Bobby BowdenSam AchoTom Brassell
Tim BrandoMatt BarkleyDick Cannon
Dale BrownTy DarlingtonMike Coupe’
Mack BrownTim HillerRudy Niswanger
Bob CasciolaGabe IkardJohn Pankratz
Bill CurryBarrett JonesCharlie Potts
Rece DavisTrevor KnightJohn Watts
Mike DitkaCourtney LoveDanny Wuerffel
Mike GottfriedRudy NiswangerJessica Wuerffel
Steve HatchellJoel PentonJon Wuerffel
John HuarteDeterrian ShackelfordLola Wuerffel
John HumenikPaul Smith
Steve OwensTim Tebow
Rudy Riska
Holly Rowe
Matthew Sign
Steve Spurrier
Don Yaeger