Thanks All The Way Around!

 As we reflect on the great year of 2016, we at the Wuerffel Trophy would like to express our sincere thanks to all who helped to make it an extra special year for us.

Dart Container’s Florida Sales Team. From L to R: Ryan Pulkkinen: CP Division Analyst, Brenda Summers: CP Administrative Supervisor, Alex Saint Louis: CP Division Analyst, Jessica Fitzgerald: Sales Training, Kevin Myers, Bob Novak, EVP Sales (photo courtesy Dart Container Corp.)

While time and space will not allow us to give gratitude to everyone who played a part, we would like to personally recognize the following organizations and people that have been so instrumental to our success over the past year.

To our friends and newest corporate partner Dart Container Corporation, words cannot express how much your commitment has meant to us.  To Michael Bradley, Kevin Myers, Phil Hakim and all of the folks at Dart/Solo, many thanks for your continued support and accompanying us on this great journey.

To Ken Langlois, Sarah and Gregg McDonald, Ken Jernigan and the entire team at Herff Jones, the providers of the Wuerffel Trophy and annual financial assistance, we are so thankful for your support over the years and look forward to being with you into the “2020’s and beyond.”

To our 2009 recipient Tim Hiller, who has been an outstanding ambassador of the Wuerffel Trophy, thank you for coming back last August to represent the Wuerffel Trophy in throwing out the first pitch at the Pensacola Blue Wahoos game and for leading the Okaloosa Walton FCA Leadership Camp.

Fork ’em! Long snapper Ryan Woehlert and Rudy Niswanger share a few moments before team meeting

A special shoutout to Dr. Chris Maggio and Athletics Director Greg Burke at Northwestern State University of Louisiana for inviting 2005 recipient Rudy Niswanger and the Wuerffel Trophy to speak to the football players and Demon athletes about the importance of serving others, and to SID Doug Ireland for arranging the Business After Hours at the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame honoring Rudy, one of Louisiana’s favorite sons.

To Rob Whalen and Tim Henning of the Heisman Trophy, and of course Executive Director Emeritus Rudy Riska, your continued support since day one means everything to us.  Thank you for all you have done and continue to do for us.

To our good friends Mike Hibbison and Heather Dade-Themelis at The Home Depot, you are simply the best.  The assistance that you’ve provided us with has been such a big part of our success this year.  Thank you for your support, and equally as important, your friendship as well.

To the National Football Foundation, and specifically Steve Hatchell, Matthew Sign, and Hillary Jeffries and all who are involved, thank you so much for taking us under your wing making us feel like a part of your family. It is an honor to be alongside you and work together in highlighting the great things that are happening in football.

To the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), we cannot thank you enough for allowing us to be a part of your organization.  To be associated with such an elite group of college football awards is so special to us.  Thanks to everyone, in particular, to Mark Wolpert (Maxwell and Bednarik Awards), Bill Brady (Davey O’Brien Award), Walter Manley II (Biletnikoff Award), Tom Lally (Walter Camp Football Foundation), Steve Richardson and Ted Gangi (Outland Trophy) and David Bazzell (Broyles Award), we so appreciate your mentoring, guidance and friendship.  And to NCFAA past president Danielle Moorman, ditto goes to you, and also, a big “Congratulations” on your engagement to Scott!

Sarah Gates poses with Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield and ESPN’s Tom Rinaldi at the 2015 Home Depot College Football Awards Reception

To ESPN, a tremendous “Thank You” for allowing us to be a part of the Red Carpet Show and a guest of The Home Depot College Football Awards Show for the second consecutive year. Specifically to Pete Derzis, John Vassallo and Miranda Thorpe, thank you much for believing in us and allowing us to be a part of the festivities again.  What you pull off is nothing short of amazing!

To our friends in Sports Information and Media Relations in NCAA FBS football, your continued support of our award and commitment to shining a spotlight on what is good in college football is one of the main reasons we are where we are today. Thank you from all of us.

To our interns who are so much more than that, Sarah Gates and Makenzie Hanle, thank you for all you both have done for us this year.  We couldn’t have gotten it done without you, and to Sarah, CONGRATULATIONS on your successful internship with the Rose Bowl.  We know it was a special time for you.

And finally, to our brothers at the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach, Florida, the birthplace of the Wuerffel Trophy, “Thank You” for allowing us the honor of presenting the Wuerffel Trophy at the most incredible awards banquet anywhere.

Happy New Year and thank you!  Our wish is that God will bless each and every one of you in 2017.

2017-01-12T14:23:34+00:00 January 4th, 2017|By Tom Brassell, Home|

About the Author: