National Football Foundation’s CEO Steve Hatchell joins Wuerffel Trophy’s Selection Committee

Steve Hatchell and Danny Wuerffel at the 2014 National Football Foundation’s Annual Press Conference in New York City.

The National Football Foundation has played host to the Wuerffel Trophy for the last 2 years, hosting the announcement of the award’s recipient at their Annual Press Conference in New York City.

Now the organization that presents football’s Premier Scholar Athlete in the William V. Campbell Trophy will be even closer with College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service as President and CEO Steve Hatchell will join the Wuerffel Trophy’s National Selection Committee beginning this year.

“I would be honored to serve in this capacity and am thrilled that you would think of me,” said Hatchell after receiving the invitation to join the Wuerffel Trophy’s selection committee.  “I have high regards for Danny and all that the Wuerffel Trophy stands for,” he added.

As president & CEO of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame, Hatchell oversees a nationwide organization with 121 chapters in 47 states with more than 12,000 members who host more than 1,000 local annual events. During his tenure, the NFF has experienced remarkable growth, and his leadership has played a critical role in the opening of the state-of-the-art $68.5 million College Football Hall of Fame in the heart of Atlanta. He has also spearheaded the launch of the NFF Leadership Hall of Fame, which has helped raise and distribute millions of dollars for the NFF scholarship programs.

Also joining the Wuerffel Trophy’s selection committee this year from the National Football Foundation is Chief Operating Officer, Matthew Sign.  As COO, Sign oversees many key areas and is involved in every facet of the organization.

“We are so excited that Steve and Matthew have joined our National Selection Committee,” said Danny Wuerffel. “They bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to our team and represent the best of the best in college football.”

2016-07-10T20:09:10+00:00 February 24th, 2016|About the Wuerffel Trophy|

About the Author: